Security News, Security Operations Reading Time: 5 minutes

Assess the maturity of your organization with CMMC Compliance

CMMC stands for Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification and is quickly gaining popularity in the IT and security communities. The government, especially the Department of Defense, uses the CMMC (Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification) system of compliance levels to assess if a company has the security required to deal with regulated or otherwise susceptible data. Companies who want to cooperate with the DoD must be rated by CMMC and adhere to CMMC rules. Creating a CMMC framework, adhering to it, and employing CMMC best practices are typically how this is accomplished.

Let’s examine CMMC compliance in more detail, including who requires it and where your organization might fit.

What is CMMC?

The CMMC has been around for a while but was just upgraded. A corporation must reference the current CMMC framework and papers to ascertain where it falls. This may be a lengthy process; therefore, many organizations want the assistance of a knowledgeable partner to determine where they stand on the CMMC level system and whether there are any gaps or opportunities for growth.

The CMMC’s primary goal is to assess the maturity of an organization’s present cybersecurity initiatives. This involves whether the company can improve and optimize its security while simultaneously maintaining it.

For businesses in the DIB, the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) program raises the bar for cyber security. It is intended to safeguard unclassified information that the DoD shares with its contractors and subcontractors. The initiative gives the DoD more certainty that contractors and subcontractors are adhering to a set of cybersecurity criteria and integrates them into procurement programs.

Three key features of the framework:

Tiered Model

CMMC mandates that, based on the type and severity of the information, organizations with access to national security information apply cybersecurity requirements at increasingly higher levels. The program also outlines how information should be passed down to subcontractors.

Assessment Requirement

CMMC evaluations give the DoD a way to confirm that defined cybersecurity standards are being followed.

Contract-based Implementation

After CMMC is completely implemented, certain DoD contractors who deal with sensitive unclassified DoD information will need to reach a specific CMMC level to be awarded a contract.

Who requires CMMC Certification?

Organizations using DoD information must have CMMC accreditation. The organization might only require a Level 3 clearance or below if it is working with non-classified DoD information. The organization will require clearance of Level 4 or higher if it deals with some valuable information. The project, however, determines classes.

CMMC Certification Levels

The CMMC certification has a total of five levels, with Level 1 being the lowest and Level 5 being the highest.

Most businesses ought to have already attained Level 1, which includes fundamental security measures, good password practices, and antivirus software. It is the most basic type of security.

At level 5, systems and procedures are in place to audit infrastructure, spot deficiencies, and fill them. Proactive techniques are also used to detect and mitigate hazards before they materialize. The Level 5 system is continuously improved.

Under the CMMC, levels are cumulative. Consequently, Level 3 businesses will satisfy Level 3, Level 2, and Level 1 standards.

Whether they engage with the government or not, most firms ought to aim for Level 4 or Level 5 compliance. A managed services provider’s audit may be able to assist them.

Framework Components

The CMMC elements in action are:

  • Domains
  • Processes
  • Capabilities
  • Practices

Contractors eventually become certified to a certain degree as they improve in their evaluations of each of these components.

At each level of the model, federal prime contractors and subcontractors are evaluated for their compliance with the Processes and Practices as they pertain to each of the relevant Domains.

Not every Domain includes all five levels. Domains relate to any consecutive number of levels between 1 and 5, or any minimum and maximum.

How Can You Get CMMC Certification?

For the CMMC, businesses cannot self-certify. Instead, a third-party certification procedure will be required for government contractors and anyone who interacts with government organizations. The degree of maturity and preparation they meet will be determined by this third party’s assessment of their present security procedures and systems.

Most businesses will conduct a full audit before they seek to become certified since CMMC certification cannot be self-certified and requires a third-party study. A managed services provider may aid a business in navigating the CMMC framework, determining whether changes are feasible, and setting up the certification procedure itself. After the certification procedure is over, a managed services provider can also develop a strategy for raising the certification level, if necessary.

The CMMC certification is one of the most sought-after security certifications for a corporation to acquire because requirements have recently altered. The business will be able to pursue federal contracts and work with privileged information once it has received CMMC accreditation.

What if you are not working with the Government?

Your business might require CMMC compliance if working with the government is something you are interested in. According to the contract, several levels of CMMC compliance may be required. For example, many contracts simply call for Level 1 or Level 2 compliance, while other contracts may call for Level 5 compliance. Obviously, the contracts with greater CMMC certification requirements are also the ones that are most likely to pay off.

But that does not necessarily mean you do not require CMMC compliance if you aren’t dealing with government or DoD contracts. The fundamental ideas of CMMC compliance are around consistent and proactive security best practices. Even for their own piece of mind, every firm should be able to attain CMMC compliance.


According to estimates, cybercrime reduces the global GDP by more than $600 billion every year. By relying on a broad network of contractors to carry out its purpose, the Department of Defense is giving each one of them access to vital information, thus raising the DIB’s overall risk profile. DoD is aware of the cost and disproportionate amount of danger that cybercrime poses to its base of subcontractors, many of which are tiny firms without the capabilities of their bigger, prime counterparts.

Considering this, DoD released CMMC to make it easier for its whole worldwide contractor base to implement best practices in cybersecurity with a “defense in depth” strategy.

Free Downloads

Datasheet of Encryption Consulting Services

Encryption Consulting is a customer focused cybersecurity firm that provides a multitude of services in all aspects of encryption for our clients.


About the Author

Prabhat Kumar Tomar is a Consultant at Encryption Consulting, working with PKIs, HSMs, and working as a consultant with high-profile clients.

Explore the full range of services offered by Encryption Consulting.

Feel free to schedule a demo to gain a comprehensive understanding of all the services Encryption Consulting provides.

Request a demo